11
Apr
08

Ten Reasons I Love Hockey

10.  Athletes in shape.  Hockey players have the average lowest body fat of any of the professional sports.

9.  Fighting is allowed, sort of.  People get into fights in hockey and nobody stops them.  In fact, people cheer.  And the fighters get penalized, but go back on the ice later (in most cases).

8.  Skill shooting.  Use a wooden stick to fire a little black puck past a guy covered in pads and into a tiny little goal.  You try it.  It ain’t easy.

7.  Love of the game.  Hockey players love the game.  And hockey fans love the game.  And hockey players love their fans, and vice versa.  You don’t get that kind of dedication in baseball, football and the NBA.

6.  Power plays.  You screw up, your team plays down a man for 2 minutes.  It’s a Time Out, and it’s exciting.  You don’t see man advantages in baseball, football or basketball.

5.  Line changes.  The ENTIRE BENCH plays.  Two minutes of skating is tiring.  So to keep everyone fresh they cycle in changes, which pits different players against each other.  Strategy at its best.

4.  Possession changes.  A team gets the puck and immediately turns around and attacks, and vice versa.  There are no “downs” or innings, nor is there a shot clock.

3.  Stanley Cup.  There’s no better trophy in all of sports.  Lombardi’s is cool, but you can’t drink out of it.  And it’s not called Lord Lombardi’s trophy.  It’s called Lord Stanley’s Cup.

2.  Canadian teams don’t suck.  In every other sport, they do.  Don’t tell that to the Ottowa Senators.

1.  The last two minutes of the game are awesome.  No time outs.  No NBA fouling back and forth.  The close games have the goalie pulled and they risk a goal to try and overpower the other team.  It’s like pulling the outfielders and adding 3 more infielders, or pulling the offensive line to get 8 receivers instead of 5.

It’s the NHL playoffs.  And they rule.


20 Responses to “Ten Reasons I Love Hockey”


  1. 1 hockeyholic
    January 6, 2010 at 1:21 am

    the ten reasons i love hockey. an amazing expression of my new found love and obsession. At lease I know there is at least someone else out there that gets it. Most people just listen and nod their heads or change the subject. Believe it or not, I found this by typing “i love hockey” into the search box.

  2. 2 Original6
    January 6, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Couldn’t agree more. I was never into sports, just played little league baseball until my wife got free tickets to a devils game. I fell in love. I bought books on it to learn as much as I could, played video games, watched videos. It’s sad it’s not more popular!

  3. 3 Mr Wisconsin
    February 19, 2010 at 1:54 am

    Amen! Takes a little bit of time for someone to catch on the game but once they do they will be hooked. Playing hockey my entire life I have always been in love with the game. My professional career (business career) has brought me to numerous places around the map where hockey is not appreciated has much as I am used to, but I have always made new fans of the game by getting colleagues to watch a game. Thank you for the top ten reasons, they are reasons I love the game above any other!

  4. 4 Damon
    April 22, 2010 at 7:00 am

    I too found your site by typing, “why I love hockey”. I was middle aged before I became a hockey fanatic. I got hooked by watching the Buffalo Sabres on TV in the playoffs one year. I was mesmerized by the skill, grace, and passion of the players. I decided to educated myself in the sport by reading books, and subscribing to The Hockey News magazine. I have since moved to North Carolina and now pull for both the Sabres and the Hurricanes. I purchase the “Center Ice” TV package every year and enjoy many great games and matchups. My wife doesn’t even make me feel guilty about the purchase. She says, ” Hey, for the price of a good ticket to one game, you can watch a seasons worth of hockey of all the teams..” Hockey is by far my favorite sport to watch. The Carolina Hurricanes fans are great down here. I think Carolinians are just great sports fans (especially college sports) so they appreciate and enjoy their professional Hockey franchise.

  5. 5 Dean
    April 24, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    So cool to find out I’m not alone. I’m 39 and just started learning to skate and plan to join a beginner league in hockey because I recently fell in love with it. I played baseball for most of my life and ame a 5-handicap golfer, so I’m pretty decent at stick/ball sports, but I’m not naive enough to thin that I’m going to be good at this right away. Just looks so fun. Being 5’8″, 180 lbs, I’m sure I’m gonna get the hell beat out of me but hey….that’s hockey!

  6. 6 splitsgentry
    April 29, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    The 10 reasons I love hockey…I don’t. I don’t understand the allure to watch such a sport. Why not get off your ass in the spring and go out and do something outside rather than watching some over priced athletes do it for you? It’s beyond me.

    [Doc-- Says the guy who's sitting on his ass in the spring, finding a fan-thread about hockey and trolling it with cynicism. The internet-- sometimes you can't make up the stupid.]

  7. 7 Vanessa
    May 9, 2011 at 10:06 am

    I don’t understand the allure of looking up things you don’t like to complain and belittle complete strangers. What a sad life!

    I too google I love hockey because ya know what? I’m sick of not knowing anyone who will watch a fucking game with me. I’ve spent most of my life in the South and dear god, dealing with football fans and having to put up fights to have the tv on the game I want is ridiculous. Getting into hockey has changed my life, it has filled the void of feeling left out from my family in Detroit. It gives me a reason to go to a bar and possibly meet other fans/friends/men. it has given me something to look forward to and being excited about. I got to attend my first home game a month ago in Detroit and my lordy, I was in tears, it was just such a great moment to feel like I belonged somewhere. Instead of having Stars fans booing me, I was cheering along with everyone else. It’s like a 3 hour concert.

    • 8 LetsGoRangers
      May 23, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      You need to get laid.

      Ps I don’t think Dallas has been considered “the South” (did you seriously just capitalize the word south Col. Sanders??) since like 1860

  8. 9 LaxQueen
    February 21, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    Yo add “Hockey players are HOT” to that list!!!

  9. 11 Geezy
    April 18, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    I love the fact that in the playoffs there are so many upsets. Any team can win it all ….

  10. April 20, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    Quality posts is the main to attract the visitors to visit the
    web site, that’s what this site is providing.

  11. June 20, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    However the issue that matters most is a range for temperature appraisal.
    � The extended family � still common in many parts of the world this type of family consists of parents, children and relatives living close together and often in the
    same house. This is just ONE of the many modules in this component –
    Note: Click On Each Image To View Larger Illustration:
    Click On Each Image To Zoom In – Lesson 1: Introduction to Basic Human Physiology
    Lesson 2: Physiology of Cells and Miscellaneous Tissues Lesson 3: Envelopes of the Body Lesson 4: The Skeletal
    System Lesson 5: Physiology and Actions of Muscles Lesson 6:
    The Human Digestive System Lesson 7: The Human Respiratory System
    and Breathing Lesson 8: The Human Urinary System Lesson
    9: The Human Reproductive (Genital) System Click On Each Image To
    Zoom In – Lesson 10: Cardiovascular and Other Circulatory Systems of the Human Body Lesson 11:
    The Human Endocrine System Lesson 12: The Human Nervous System Lesson
    13: The Special Senses Lesson 14: Some Elementary Human Genetics
    Ear-Eyes-Nose Injuries – Musculoskeletal System – Nursing Care Related to the Musculoskeletal System – Anatomy
    and Physiology Related to Clinical Pathology –
    AND MANY MORE.

  12. July 17, 2013 at 5:12 am

    Hello, Thank you for the excelent writeup. It in fact was
    a nice easy read. I will come back to enjoy more of your excellent work.
    By the way, how could we communicate? Appreciate it!

  13. July 17, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    Very good blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Thanks!

  14. July 18, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d without a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this site
    with my Facebook group. Chat very soon, with you! Much appreciated info!

  15. July 24, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    I was wondering if you ever thought of changing
    the page layout of your blog? Its very well
    written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more
    in the way of content so people could connect with
    it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2
    images. Maybe you could space it out better?
    Many thanks!

  16. November 10, 2013 at 6:09 pm

    Hello, There, I found your blog while surfing the internet.
    This is a very well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of
    your useful information. Very much appreciated information!

  17. August 29, 2014 at 1:56 am

    Hello there my own family member! I would like to point out that this article is actually amazing, excellent published and are available using most significant infos.. PERRITT I wish to seem additional discussions this way .


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 123,074 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

