22
Nov
06

Nuclear Family

I’ve always been amazed at children who ask their parents for things like a model radio, transparent human, or transistor set so they can build things. I’ve always been amazed at the parents who support their children in such a way, too, as those hobbies aren’t cheap.

Well, meet the Olson family and their brilliant son, Thiago:

In the basement of his parents’ Oakland Township home, tucked away in an area most aren’t privy to see, Thiago is exhausting his love of physics on a project that has taken him more than two years and 1,000 hours to research and build — a large, intricate machine that , on a small scale, creates nuclear fusion.

…He first achieved fusion in September and has been perfecting the machine he built in his parents’ garage ever since…

Thiago’s mom, Natalice Olson, initially was leery of the project, even though the only real danger from the fusion machine is the high voltage and small amount of X-rays emitted through a glass window in the vacuum chamber — through which Olson videotapes the fusion in action..

But, she wasn’t really surprised, since he was always coming up with lofty ideas.

“Originally, he wanted to build a hyperbaric chamber,” she said, adding that she promptly said no. But, when he came asking about the nuclear fusion machine, she relented.

I love that story. “Mom, can I build a hyperbaric chamber in the garage?” “No, Thiago.” “How about a nuclear fusion reactor?” “Well, OK.” If it were my kid it would be the other way around.

Regardless, it’s nice to see parent support something other than soccer talents. Don’t be afraid to put down the Bratz doll and pick up a chemistry kit, parents.


2 Responses to “Nuclear Family”


  1. February 5, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do
    it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  2. March 11, 2013 at 11:50 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. This is a really neatly
    written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your helpful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,290 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

