19
Feb
07

Words we make up

A woman I know who has kids and I were talking about how having children ruins your language. For example, today I was at Wal-Mart with my family and I said, ‘We are going home with the furniture we have just boughten!”

I changed that to “We are going home with the furniture we have just purchased.” Turns out I didn’t make up a word, but it certainly sounded like it at the time.

My woman friend said the same thing. She was feeding her kids and one of them picked up a piece of orange and started squeezing it. She said, “We don’t squozen our orange juice into our soup!”

Before having children, my English was fabulous. Lots of big words, well-formed speech– it was an amalgam of phonetic eloquence. But now– I have problems coming up with words. It’s like Alzheimer’s. People call it “baby brain”. It’s seriously bad.

But if it wasn’t for “baby brain”, we wouldn’t have the word boughten. Or the soon to be word “squozen”!

0 Responses to “Words we make up”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 130,374 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

