08
Jun
07

If feminists are so smart, why are they so dumb?

I was reading some recent stuff on abortion and I ran across this post over at Feministing. I think it highlights the major problem I have with feminism and liberals in general — they completely fail to take into account the “big picture” and instead fall into tired rhetoric that has been incomplete for decades.

Jen says:

Every story is always the same. That there are two opposite sides in the “abortion debate.” (Damn, do I hate that term.) Here’s the reality, folks. If you want less abortions you have to give women the tools to avoid getting pregnant when they don’t want to be. See? Not complicated. I really wish people would stop pretending that the two sides of this are no abortions ever and all abortions always.

Jen, you’ve always had the best tool to avoid getting pregnant. Your brain. If you don’t want to get pregnant, don’t have sex. Don’t pretend women don’t have the power in the bedroom. The vast majority of women have sex on their terms.

You want to have sex? Great. Just beware the consequences. It’s like me hitting myself in the head with a hammer. I may like the subsequent endorphin release, but I have to take into account that at some point I may give myself a concussion, or fracture my skull. It’s a consequence of my actions. If I decided to stop hitting myself in the head, I know I wouldn’t suffer those consequences. Sex is the same way. If you have sex, the natural consequence is pregnancy.

We have tools that help avoid pregnancy, but they’re not foolproof. And when they fail, the natural consequence may be the result. Your brain should understand this.

I don’t care what you do with your body, Jen, and how you live your life. But once another person is involved and you start making life-or-death decisions for them, that’s when I have a problem.

Use your brain. It’s a tool the Pro-Life movement will never take from you.


6 Responses to “If feminists are so smart, why are they so dumb?”


  1. 1 suckonthis
    June 22, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    “The vast majority of women have sex on their terms.”

    I’m sorry, I just had to highlight this.

    Not only is it blatantly false, but it also reveals, albeit in a subtle way, just how much you appear to resent women, and specifically female sexuality.

    If I could ask a personal question, could you describe to me your sex life, past and present? I don’t need details or anything, I just want to get a general gist of how much sex you’ve had and with how many people.

    You don’t have to answer, of course, but I feel it’s relevant to your continual judgement of other people’ sex lives.

    • 2 docattheautopsy
      June 22, 2009 at 10:59 pm

      “If I could ask a personal question, could you describe to me your sex life, past and present?”

      HA ha ha ha ha ha!

      Sure, “suckonthis”. Let me just go into detail about my sexual history for ya…

      “Not only is it blatantly false, but it also reveals, albeit in a subtle way, just how much you appear to resent women, and specifically female sexuality.”

      So, stating that women are empowered enough to make their own choices on sexuality means I resent them and their sexuality. Up is down, left is right, and people just tell you all about their sex lives, don’t they?

      • 3 suckonthis
        June 23, 2009 at 12:03 am

        If you really believe that women are empowered enough to make their own choices about sexuality, why don’t you leave them to it, instead of harping on about how they shouldn’t use contraception and how they should stop having so much sex?

        I don;t think it’s that unreasonable to ask you about your sex life, since you seem fairly keen on poking your nose into other peoples’.

      • 4 docattheautopsy
        June 23, 2009 at 6:37 am

        “If you really believe that women are empowered enough to make their own choices about sexuality, why don’t you leave them to it, instead of harping on about how they shouldn’t use contraception and how they should stop having so much sex?”

        I never said that. You drew an incorrect assumption from my post.

        I said that contraceptives are not 100% reliable. The best contraceptive is not to have sex, and that, my friend, is the biggest choice a woman could make.

        “I don;t think it’s that unreasonable to ask you about your sex life, since you seem fairly keen on poking your nose into other peoples’.”

        If you don’t think it’s unreasonably to ask people specifically about their private life, then you have serious boundary issues.

  2. 5 Matt R
    June 22, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Pathetic!
    If you can’t argue this case on it’s merits, with reasons, without asking a man who many women he slept with…just pathetic. Go to the WHO or Planned Parenthood website and READ and come back with facts, don’t ask a stranger how man people they slept with.

    The above has to be the stupidest (and I mean stupid in sad way) post I have ever read.

    Please have the good taste to apologize, blame on the red bulls & vodka… something.

    • 6 suckonthis
      June 23, 2009 at 12:04 am

      “If you can’t argue this case on it’s merits, with reasons,”

      So why do you keep trying to discredit me because of your lame interpretation of an internet handle?


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,345 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

