26
Jun
07

The Chris Benoit Tragedy

I used to watch wrestling back when it was the WWF with my roommate from England. It was fun, and it beat watching Ally McBeal. And I remember Chris Benoit. He was a decent wrestler but didn’t really have the magnetism of a Mick Foley or Rick Flair.

To hear the news that Benoit killed his wife and 7-year old son in a murder-suicide is absolutely tragic.

But what’s worse is to air a “3-hour tribute” to Benoit as a wrestler.

The WWE canceled its live “Monday Night RAW” card in Corpus Christi, Texas, and USA Network aired a three-hour tribute to Benoit in place of the scheduled wrestling telecast.

I understand there’s money to be made, but the man just slaughtered his wife and his child before killing himself. That’s not something we should be offering a tribute to.


8 Responses to “The Chris Benoit Tragedy”


  1. 1 JimK
    June 27, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    The tribute aired before anyone knew HE had done the killing. In fact, the press report from the police was released as the special was going off the air.

    (first post removed due to massive typos!)

  2. 2 Doc
    June 27, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    I was reading the reports before Monday Night Raw aired. Not to mention there were text messages that were being sent on the weekend from Benoit that were “distressing” in nature.

    They knew something was up enough to put together a tribute show for Raw.

  3. 3 Anonymous
    August 12, 2007 at 12:05 am

    I don’t think Benoit killed his family or himself.

  4. 4 Drakudemine
    August 16, 2007 at 10:01 am

    The tribute was aired when nobody knew what really happened. Now there will be no message, text, video or anything on WWE that will remind people of Benoit.

  5. 5 Anonymous
    August 16, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    i think its awful what happened and the wwe didn’t know what had truely happened when they put that tribute out. I also think that they should still remember him for the wrestler he was. i also don’t think he done it.

  6. 6 Anonymous
    August 27, 2007 at 5:29 am

    The tribute aired before the police released that they thought benoit had killed his family and killed his self. Either way benoit was a good wrestler and he will live on in his fans hearts. And im still finding it hard to believe that benoit did this to his family. In my heart i dont think for one minute that he did it.

  7. 7 Anonymous
    September 14, 2007 at 2:11 am

    Listen people i myself was a pro wrestler i had to retire due to health problems BUT Chris Benoit was one hell of a wrestler and a true friend to everyone he knew in this sport and as far as him killing his family and himself i swear i cant see him ever doing that even tho they say he did Chris I will always remember you sleep well my dear friend

  8. 8 wwe
    July 5, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    great Post I am a big Wrestling fan from Switzerland


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,290 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

