04
Sep
07

Ridley Scott– The Internet Is Killing Me!

So says the director here. (Well, he said it’s killing the cinema, but hey, I can read between the lines.)

Coming off one of Hollywood’s best summers in recent memory, I can’t really see what he’s talking about. (Although, some think global warming is the cause of the increase in business. I kid you not.)

But, as usual, the internet gets the blame because some people have the time to BitTorrent a 2 GB file on their DSL.

What’s really killing movies? A lack of creativity.

Come on. The biggest movies this summer were a bunch of rehashed ideas:

  • Transformers: based off a cartoon of the same name which originated in the 80s.
  • The Bourne Ultimatum: From what I hear, a good movie. But a sequel.
  • The Simpsons: Another cartoon, but this one is not live action.
  • Evan Almighty: A sequel to Bruce Almighty.
  • Ocean’s Thirteen. I’m looking forward to Ocean’s Forty-Seven. I hear Fourty-Six will be terrible, though.
  • Fantastic Four. A sequel to a bomb that bombed.
  • Pirates of the Carribean. Avast mateys! It be a sequel! yarrrr
  • Shrek the Third. Already in pre-production for Shrek’s Forty-Seventh. Can’t wait.
  • Spider Man 3.
  • Harry Potter and the Invasion of the Cash Cow.
  • Halloween. It’s a remake.

I just scanned the list of movies and I can only find two original titles in there that were a box-office smash (big opening weekend), and those are I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry, and Ratatouille.

Ridley, are you sure it’s the internet? Or is it Hollywood’s abandoning of originality that’s killing the industry?

3 Responses to “Ridley Scott– The Internet Is Killing Me!”


  1. June 20, 2013 at 6:34 am

    Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin
    for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having
    difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  2. July 24, 2013 at 10:24 am

    I am no longer certain where you’re getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time studying more or understanding more. Thanks for fantastic info I used to be searching for this information for my mission.

  3. January 31, 2014 at 3:27 am

    That is a very good tip especially to those fresh
    to the blogosphere. Brief but very accurate information… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read post!


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 130,110 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

