11
Sep
07

9/11– Six Years Later

Every generation has it’s “event”. To one generation, it was the attack on Pearl Harbor. To others, it was the Kennedy Assassination. Some see the Challenger explosion as a seminal event. And for most of the country, it’s 9/11.

I remember that day clearly. I was in San Angelo, Texas at the time. Some people were going nuts (I remember many lining up to buy gas at inflated prices), but others were not. I remember going with my wife to Subway to get some lunch and talking to the people behind the counter. It wasn’t time for insanity, and most of us realized that. The nation took a deep breath and we moved on.

But as time marches on, our memories fade, replaced by a need for rationalization. KOS’ DrSteveB has a great example of that rationalization. Instead of focusing on the people who perpetrated 9/11, he instead lays the blame for 9/11 on all Republicans. Regardless of the numerous bipartisan failures that led up to 9/11, DrSteveB is so blinded by political animosity that he’s focused his anger on a political movement in this country rather than on the Islamists who are bent on destroying us (a threat he calls “overblown”).

I’ll give him some credit. At least he didn’t invoke a 9/11 conspiracy.

I didn’t have any direct connection to the people or events of 9/11, but I made one last year with a tribute page to Donna Marie Giordano.

I’d also invite you all to visit the 2996 Project’s homepage and visit with some of the victims through other tribute pages.


2 Responses to “9/11– Six Years Later”


  1. 1 Bobak
    September 14, 2007 at 12:34 am

    Hmmm….6 years later and where are we? Osama bin Laden is still out on the loose and still enraging the Islamic extremists. We are involved in a war based on blatant lies (I would LOVE to hear you reasoning behind this, it would be a good laugh). And The nation is more divided than ever.

    After 9/11 I was ready to support the President in chasing Bin Laden wherever he might be. I was happy when he went into Afghanistan to oust the Taliban, but then he decided that Iraq (a country that had NO capability or realistic desire to strike at the US) was more important than catching Bin Laden…

    Not really surprised at your comments, I mean any time you get to bash the Left you take it. In this case the above problems are so obviously the problems brought forth by President Bush and the Republican Congress. Arguing the opposite must really take a lot out of you…

  2. 2 8
    June 12, 2013 at 7:33 am

    A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I believe that you need to publish more about this subject,
    it may not be a taboo matter but typically people don’t speak about such topics. To the next! Best wishes!!


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,302 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

