11
Dec
07

The Big Drudge-Huck Hit

Recently, Drudge ran a banner piece on GOP Presidential Candidate Mike Huckabee about how “he wants to take America back for Christ”, or something along those lines. Webutante, among many others, explains why this particular attack is disingenuous, primarily that at the time Huckabee was a pastor and not an elected official.

But Drudge’s attack is very useful, because it’s those types of statements by Huckabee that are going to be the “red meat” Democrats toss to their supporters. “Do you want Mike Huckabee, Uber-Christian White Male, to be your president?” Talk about riling up an already apathetic base.

Drudge passes on another warning today— and it’s the same warning I’d be issuing. The Democrats think Mike Huckabee is a “glass jaw” candidate. I completely agree. Huckabee’s record on taxes in his state is horrible. His Baptist background and his ordained status in the Baptist congregations really makes people skittish as far as separation of Church & State (and, as I mentioned, it will fire up the Democratic base). He seems vastly ignorant of foreign policy. He doesn’t know much about CDC quarantine procedure. And he’s a supporter of the “Fair Tax“, a plan which is good from a philosophical angle but cannot be implemented as currently suggested. (I think it could be implemented, but not at 30%– that’s just economic foolishness.)

I never liked Huckabee, and now I’m going on the record as being anti-Huckabee. This guy is a GOP disaster, and I really hope we don’t nominate him. If the DNC is not willing to oppose a Huckabee nomination, that should send up red flags everywhere. They’re itching to pound him.

UPDATE:  Seems I’m not the only one.


2 Responses to “The Big Drudge-Huck Hit”


  1. 1 loopyloo350
    December 11, 2007 at 9:48 am

    I didn’t support his as Gov. of my state and sure do not intend to support his as Pres. If Republicans choose him though, he is going to get a lot of the same people that thought George Bush was a nice guy. There are an awful lot of fools out there that have not learned their lesson.

  2. 2 William
    December 12, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    And he doesn’t know he’s a primate.

    “If anybody wants to believe that they are the descendants of a primate, they are certainly welcome to do it.”

    – Mike ‘the Huckster’ Huckabee

    http://www.alternet.org/story/68057/?page=entire


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,328 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

