01
Feb
08

Maybe the Sun DOES Have Something to Do With It

Looks like sunspot activity is hitting dangerous lows.

I’m not going to start shouting “Ice Age!  Ice Age!” After all, if you look at the record from 1600 to 2000, you see a lovely oscillating record of sunspot data.  And you can find more sunspot data here, which I refuse to compile on general principle (if I barely have time to post, I’m not going through 140 years of sunspot data to discover very little).

The low sunspot count is interesting, but given the fabulous outpouring of activity from our stellar neighbor over the past 10 years, I think it deserves a well-earned break.  Now, if it doesn’t pick up over the next 10 years– then I’ll be worried.  Very worried.  Hey, I live in Wisconsin!


1 Response to “Maybe the Sun DOES Have Something to Do With It”


  1. February 19, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Good news. I’ve been banging this drum for months now, that climate is related to sunspot activity. (See the link above.)

    By my research, sunspot (increased) activity yields increased solar winds, which repel inbound cosmic rays. And cosmic rays = increased cloud cover. I.e., increased sunspots yields decreased cloud cover; and by result, warmer climate. Conversely, decreased sunspots (like the period we’re about to enter) yields global cooling.

    If the projections are correct, we’re about to enter a protracted period of global COOLING, not warming.

    Not really good news for Wisconsin.🙂

    But thank your lucky stars you don’t live in Canada.


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,345 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

