30
Mar
08

Democrats Abandoning Democracy

It seems the party elders have had enough of this “primary” business. Half of the Democrats want Obama, another half want Hillary, and it doesn’t like anyone is going to secure the delegates needed, by the convention. So will the Superdelegates side with Hillary out of loyalty to the Clinton way? Will they side with Obama and the majority of the party’s delegates?

Or will they say “Screw it!” and just nominate someone else altogether?

If neither Mr Obama nor Mrs Clinton has the 2,025 delegates needed to win the nomination, and if both appear unable to beat Mr McCain, under one scenario a group of about 100 party elders – the “super-delegates” – could sit out the first ballot in Denver, preventing either candidate winning outright, and then offer Mr Gore the nomination for the good of the party.

Tim Mahoney, a Democrat congressman from Florida, said last week: “If it goes into the convention, don’t be surprised if someone different is at the top of the ticket.” This suggests the party would accept a Gore-Clinton or a Gore-Obama pairing.

So let me get this straight. Instead of throwing their support behind the first woman presidential nominee or the first black presidential nominee, they’re going to throw their support behind a white male! One who wasn’t even on the ballot!
All for the good of the party, of course. So how about we request a name change from “Demo”crats to “Oliga”crats to represent that yes, the party is actually run and controlled by a very small group of power brokers?

But I’m looking forward to seeing President Gore. I can’t wait until roving gangs of environmentalists are peeking in my window, making sure I’m using compact fluorescent bulbs, composting my garbage, and running my TV with a hand-crank.


0 Responses to “Democrats Abandoning Democracy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,290 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

