26
Jul
08

Obama vs. McCain!

I’ve been reading many stories, listening to speeches, and watching video of pundits, and I’ve come to a realization:

I’m all electioned out.

After the primary season, I was running on fumes.  Now we’re treated to the Obama love-fest from the media, and the “Big Ignore” of John McCain.  Which is fine.  I’d prefer it it they were both ignored.

I don’t know who I’m going to vote for.  I’ve got three options, Not Obama, Not McCain, or Not Go.  And I’m not going to base my decisions until I see some debates.

Frankly, I’ve preferred McCain’s speeches due to the fact there’s substance.  Obama’s speeches have been some great-but-empty rhetoric.  I’m leaning towards McCain because I think he’s got a better grasp on fiscal responsibility than any Democrat.  He’s also got a better overall plan on foreign policy.  And I’m sure Obama would put judges onto the Supreme Court that would do more to hurt the Constitution than help it.  So far, 3-0 McCain.

But I’m not liking McCain’s immigration stance, nor do I like his “maverickiness” when he was continually joining with Democrats (and,he was a MSM media darling when he did it).  He was also involved in the AZSCAM, although ultimately cleared.  He’s also old, which means his choice of a VP is of greater interest than that of Obama.

So that means 3 points for McCain, 0 for Obama, and 3 for No Vote (or Bob Barr).  I’ll know more when we have some debates.


1 Response to “Obama vs. McCain!”


  1. 1 Matt R.
    July 27, 2008 at 8:31 am

    HEAR HEAR! Between the early primaries and the 24 hour news channels, I am just burned out. I think the candidates are out of fresh ideas too. Obama has to go to Kabul for fresh votes (Alaska and Hawaii are just too far away?) for Pete’s sake.

    “In 1968 the country had 14 state presidential primaries, scheduled rather sensibly and intermittently between March and June. In 2008 a minimum of 42 primaries will be held, possibly as many as 47, beginning in January, or even earlier, and stretching out for six long months.

    Even worse, the ’08 schedule will be the most “front-loaded” ever, with so many contests moved into January and early February that the party nominees might be determined in the blink of an eye, with no chance for “buyer’s remorse.” In 1980 only one state had a primary or caucus by the end of February. By 2000 nine states did so, and in 2004, nineteen. Next year, an incredible thirty states are on track to push into January or February.”
    Larry J. Sabato
    Director, U.Va. Center for Politics


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,328 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

