17
Aug
08

This Post is Above My Pay Grade

I haven’t watched the “forum debate” with Barack Obama and John McCain last night, but Obama’s “above my pay grade” answer to abortion has certainly gone viral. Here’s the question and complete answer by Obama:

Here’s the entire problem with that answer. If the problem is “above his pay grade”, which is an allusion to God, then it would be the safe bet to err on the side of caution and assume the embryo/fetus is a baby.

Now, later in that answer, Barack says he believes in Roe V. Wade, and feels that should not be overturned. At that point, he makes his fatal error. By stating Roe V. Wade should still be legal, even though the problem of theology or science is “above his pay grade”, he says that legal definitions overrule that of God or science, even though he admits he doesn’t know what the theological answer is! Obama effectively says that humans (and he himself!) know more than God!

What a terrible answer, but it clearly exposes his arrogance, inexperience and theological ineptitude.


12 Responses to “This Post is Above My Pay Grade”


  1. August 17, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    He seems to think that a large part of his job as candidate is to not answer difficult and important questions. And I think that has a lot to do with why he’s running so far behind Democrats in general: the electorate is painfully aware of preference for hype and showmanship over addressing the questions they feel they need answered by a candidate. I imagine even more Americans are now asking, “What’s he trying to hide?”
    And he’s not in favor of abortion because he’s favors abortion but because women don’t undertake that decision casually. I’ve never made a decision about robbing a bank casually, so, will Barry give me federal protection? I doubt it since I’ve observed that senators seem to prefer white collar criminals.

  2. August 18, 2008 at 8:29 am

    If the problem is “above his pay grade”, which is an allusion to God,

    …or one could take God’s Word for it “I say to you, choose Life!”–Jeremiah

  3. 3 cliffordthedawg
    August 18, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Thank you! I’d hate to vote for a man for POTUS if everything that’s inconvenient or difficult is “above his pay grade”.

  4. 4 Greg Cnaidod
    August 18, 2008 at 9:14 am

    this is great

  5. 5 Rob
    August 18, 2008 at 11:25 am

    I understand the author of the post and several of the commenters may be Christian themselves (I am), but what about Americans who are not Christian and maybe even Americans who are atheist?

    Why would anyone in our democratic society, where we’re all supposed to be equals, want to impose their religious views on another?

    Obama’s answer is complex because this is a complex issue. Then again, McCain seems to take just about every side of the issue he can. Many Americans (even many conservatives) think he is pro-choice while he has also taken several sides on related issues like stem cell research, being both in favor of it in the past and, more recently, opposing it.

  6. 6 docattheautopsy
    August 18, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    We’ve all got a stance on abortion. Matter of fact, had Obama come out directly and said, “As a constitutional scholar, I feel that the Roe V. Wade decision is valid legal precedent and should be enforced, regardless of my personal views. As President, by job is to enforce the laws on the land.” I would have supported it. I think that the President should enforce the laws of the land– my problem is that Roe V. Wade was a legal case, not a law, that established a “right of privacy” that had no legislative pretext. (It was legislation from the bench in its most influential form.)

    But he didn’t. He punted a glorious 5-yard shank deep in his own territory. He said there was a scientific or theological way of looking at it, and them meandered into “complexities”. That’s not leadership. Leaders make tough decisions, and what we look for in a President is not so much their stance on Roe V. Wade, but on their ability to make clear, justifiable, and reasonable decisions, and explain their actions well to the population. Obama clearly failed to do that here, and in other contexts.

    His “These hands built a tractor…” commercials that have played during the Olympics are equally as frustrating (not that John McCain’s are much better). I want to hear substance, not rhetoric. I want to hear concrete plans, not platform generalities.

    I’m not seeing that from Obama, and this answer was pure arrogance.

  7. August 18, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Though I agree that McCain did better than Obama, I doubt that the discussion will have much of an effect on anything. Given a choice of a religious/political discussion on a Saturday night in August, most of the relatively few people who were home watching television were tuned to the Olympics. McCain was going to get the conservative evangelical vote, anyway, though he may have boosted his credibility with the folks he once termed “agents of intolerance.” Obama may have countered the ongoing fiction that he is a Muslim, though the people stupid enough to believe that may not be able to figure out how to vote, anyway–and if they do, they weren’t going to vote for Obama.

    I am a bit troubled that the candidates felt they needed to attend a church-sponsored discussion at all, a further complication of what I see as an often negative relationship between religion and presidential politics. It would bother me less if the candidates felt equally compelled to answer questions from a union leader, a state governor, the mayor of a major American city (New Orleans or New York, perhaps?), a panel of teachers and parents, and a panel of economists.

  8. 8 docattheautopsy
    August 18, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    “Obama may have countered the ongoing fiction that he is a Muslim, though the people stupid enough to believe that may not be able to figure out how to vote, anyway–and if they do, they weren’t going to vote for Obama.”

    Ha!

    This forum was more of a curiosity, but Obama really stumbled here. He’s got the convention coming up, which is good, because he’s going to need a nice, solid speech to recover from his continued verbal gaffes. I doubt it will affect the polling numbers (yet), but the GOP has plenty of ad material from here to throw at Obama in September/October.

  9. 9 momo13996
    August 18, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    This was obviously a shining night for McCain. He profoundly did better than Barack Me and my father were talking yesterday about this debate after watching it the night before, and we, along with my mother, believe that a women should have a baby and put it up for adoption-no matter what age. Well, as we were talking my father brought up a story that he had never told me before. He said, “About 11 weeks after your mother was pregnant we had to get lots of ultrasounds done. Before this event I thought that it was a woman’s decision, and she could do what she wanted. But then, as we were watching the ultrasound, we noticed a little light blinking. I asked what it was and the doctor said, ‘That’s the baby’s heart.’ From that moment on I loved you to death and was totally against abortion.” I am against abortion too. Seriously, a human life begins AT conception, just as John said…

  10. August 18, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    John McCain on the other hand is fine with 13 year old girls getting pregnant and if they choose to keep the baby and go out on welfare, he’ll say they’re scum.

  11. 11 docattheautopsy
    August 18, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Better to kill the babies, eh?

    I doubt you’ll find McCain wishing ill upon the 13-year old. Welfare is there to help.. to a point.

    IMHO, the onus of social assistance is upon the local community, not the government. It was a mistake to ever put social responsibility upon the government as it removed the necessity of care from the local community.

  12. April 21, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    I have read so many posts on the topic of the blogger lovers however this paragraph is actually a
    nice post, keep it up.


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,290 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

