20
Aug
08

8 Gold Medals? They’re Grrrreeaaat!

One of many endorsement deals to come, Michael Phelps will appear on boxes of Frosted Flakes.  He says he plans to collect these millions, cash them out in $10s, and then roll around in them at home when he gets back from training.

Or whatever.  The greatest olympic swimmer of all-time can do whatever he wants, right?

Well, not according to some, who are critical of his choice of Frosted Flakes because they’re high in sugar.

I guess it’s true.  There’s always someone in the wings trying to rain on your parade.

Look, Phelps eats 12,000 calories a day because he swims so much.  He needs all the energy he can get, and if he gets it from a bowl of Count Chocula, so be it.  It’s his choice.  And you know what?  I’m sure you’re going to find more kids eating Frosted Flakes than All Bran or Puffed Kashi (which, IMHO, is like eating paper, without the good taste).

I remember when I was a kid and my parents replaced the Honey Smacks or whatever with Grape Nuts.  (There are no grapes or grape flavors in there– hello, truth in advertising?)  Anyway, to make the crunchy bran nuggets palatable, I would dump 3 teaspoons of granulated sugar on them.  Yum!  Had I just gotten the Frosted Flakes, I would never have needed it.

If Phelps can reach kids on a box of cereal and say, “Try swimming a lot and you’ll look like me, at least from the neck down!”  (Sorry Mike– I’ve got the opposite problem.), then I think that’s great.  Kids need athlete role models, and Phelps is an awesome role model.  And he’ll reach far more kids and inspire them to be active by being on Golden Grahms or Frosted Flakes than being on Shredded Wheat.

I think with the childhood obesity problem, we need to encourage more kids to be active, and having a lasting memory of Phelp’s achievements in Beijing on a box of cereal is a good thing.


0 Responses to “8 Gold Medals? They’re Grrrreeaaat!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,302 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

