10
Sep
08

Obama zealots explained.

It seems that excessive cannabis use leads to an earlier onset of psychosis.

The researchers also report that “estimates of the attributable risk suggest that the use of cannabis accounts for about 10 percent of cases of psychosis.”

The findings are based on 131 patients ages 15 to 65 years who needed inpatient care for a first psychotic episode during a 2-year period. The subjects were evaluated using the Structured Clinical Interview for DSM-IV Axis I Disorders, and clinical and demographic data were also collected.

The results showed a significant gradual reduction in the age at which psychosis began that correlated with an increased dependence on cannabis. Compared with nonusers, age at onset was reduced by 7, 8.5, and 12 years among users, abusers and dependents, respectively, the researchers report.

In further analysis, the effect of cannabis on age at onset “was not explained by the use of other drugs or by gender,” they also note. The finding was similar in the youngest patients, suggesting that this effect was not due to chance.

Imagine that. Hardcore use of a mild hallucinogen causes brain dysfunction! Now I understand Daily Kos diarists and ANSWER in a whole new light.


1 Response to “Obama zealots explained.”


  1. September 10, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    I’ve heard that psychiatrists used to call incurable insanity on those taking three or more ‘acid’ trips.

    But then, they used to define homosexuality as a disease (still in one of my old texts, I think), before ‘enlightenment’ came along.

    The few times I’ve tried cannabis sativa, I think my reaction was mild paranoia. As in locking myself in a closet for a couple hours..
    ;D


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,290 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

