18
Oct
08

What’s new with Global Warming?

I remember 4 years ago you couldn’t swing a dead cat without hitting a story about global warming.

Now?  Global warming is mentioned in passing.  It might be that people have all come to a consensus that global warming is happening, so the news about it isn’t as pressing.

Or, maybe the entire idea that our activities are warming the Earth are hitting a “dry spell”, pardon the pun.

Checking a blog which analyzes the trends, you see the most recent trend, the 60-month trend is a decline.  A steady decline.  I’m stealing his two images here to avoid hotlinking.

I’ll keep them up for a while, but they’re big ol’ files, so I’ll be purging them once I get short on media space.

But you can see from here the 5 year trends are downwards, and the slopes are certainly trending downwards (second image).  Couple this with a decrease in the solar wind, and we’ve got a major cooling trend hitting the planet at the moment.

But don’t listen to me.  I’m just reporting data.  Leo DeCaprio says the world is warming out of control, and he’s better looking than I am.


2 Responses to “What’s new with Global Warming?”


  1. 1 John A. Davison
    October 23, 2008 at 4:18 am

    There is only one solution to our energy problems. It is nuclear generated electricity and an all electric surface transportation system. Fossil fuels should be limited to aircraft. It is also important that electricity distribution be entirely undergound to eliminate the disruptions caused by the increasingly devastating effects of violent weather which are clearly correlated with the increases in atmospheric greenhouse gas concentration.

    jadavison.wordpress.com.


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,345 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

