16
Nov
08

George Bush – Mission Accomplished?

The standing order in newsrooms around the country has been that the only news you print from Iraq is bad news. So when Iraq stopped making news, you had to know something was up, and it was all good.

Michael Yon has communicated with Glenn Reynolds (aka Instapundit) and has some great news that I’ll post here.

“There’s nothing going on. I’m with the 10th Mountain Division, and about half of the guys I’m with haven’t fired their weapons on this tour and they’ve been here eight months. And the place we’re at, South Baghdad, used to be one of the worst places in Iraq. And now there’s nothing going on. I’ve been walking my feet off and haven’t seen anything. I’ve been asking Iraqis, ‘do you think the violence will kick up again,’ but even the Iraqi journalists are sounding optimistic now and they’re usually dour.” There’s a little bit of violence here and there, but nothing that’s a threat to the general situation. Plus, not only the Iraqi Army, but even the National Police are well thought of by the populace. Training from U.S. toops has paid off, he says, in building a rapport.

Sounds like not just good news, but the best of all possible news reports.  It’s a shame George Bush couldn’t do this 4 years ago– this election may have gone very differently.


1 Response to “George Bush – Mission Accomplished?”


  1. 1 John A. Davison
    November 16, 2008 at 9:10 am

    George W. Bush will be remembered as one of our greatest Presidents, just as B. Hussein Obama will be remembered as our very worst.


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,290 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

