20
Jan
09

Al Gore Immortalized

Now this is a clever idea. Direct site is here.

I cached the photo before it melts. Long live Al Gore!

frozen-al-gore


17 Responses to “Al Gore Immortalized”


  1. 1 Enna
    January 20, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    HAHAHAHAHA awesome.

  2. 2 John A. Davison
    January 22, 2009 at 5:08 am

    Al Gore will be remembered for being right on about global warming and probably for little else.

    Here is some recent important information.

    http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601124&sid=a88Ja2tPfcnM&refer=home

    “Mankind fiddled while earth burned.”
    John A. Davison

  3. 3 John A. Davison
    January 22, 2009 at 5:47 am

    Al Gore will be remembered for one thing only. He was right on about global warming.

    http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601124&sid=a88Ja2tPfcnM&refer=home

  4. 4 John A. Davison
    January 23, 2009 at 5:20 am

    It is sad that I am not allowed to comment on this blog. I guess conformity is the order of the day.

  5. 5 John A. Davison
    January 23, 2009 at 5:22 am

    All I said was that Al Gore was right on about global warming. Is that grounds for blocking my comment?

  6. 6 docattheautopsy
    January 23, 2009 at 8:18 am

    ????

  7. 7 John A. Davison
    January 23, 2009 at 8:59 am

    I had two earlier comments that never appeared.

    I admit I am paranoid and have good grounds to be. James Hansen is right on too!

  8. 8 Glenn
    January 29, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    With all due respect Mr. Davison, I remind you that Al Gore is devoid of any scientific credentials whatsoever. Why would anyone listen to his opinion on AGW?

    James Hansen has been criticized by his former supervisor at NASA who has just decided that he is now an AGW skeptic:

    “Retired senior NASA atmospheric scientist Dr. John S. Theon, the former supervisor of James Hansen, NASA’s vocal man-made global warming fears soothsayer, has now publicly declared himself a skeptic and declared that Hansen “embarrassed NASA” with his alarming climate claims and said Hansen was “was never muzzled.” Theon joins the rapidly growing ranks of international scientists abandoning the promotion of anthropogenic global warming fears.”

    In my opinion, Hansen is beyond retirement age and badly needs to retire. Several of the major suppositions of the alarmists have been scientifically disproven in the past 12 months. More and more scientists are becoming AGW skeptics. About 45% is my current take on it. In 20 years, no one will admit that they had ever believed the rubbish in Al Gore’s “Inconvenient Truth.” Anyone who believes the simplistic notion that the essence of climate change is the trivial increase of CO2 in the atmosphere and the large IR transmission window of CO2 causing the planet to retain heat is sadly undereducated in the vast complexities of atmospheric science.

    I post here occasionally and my rantings have never failed to stay up here on this board. Doc is a good man, though we have never met, or even spoken at length. I am a senior environmental chemist and a proud signer of the Oregon Petition. I work at a totally independent commercial laboratory thus I have zero energy company connections. My only government employment was a long stint in the U.S Army from 1969-1975. I tested jet fuel and a few other items in military labs. Vietnam veteran? You bet. Al Gore is a distant cousin of mine, though I have never met him OR voted for him. There we have it, I believe in full disclosure.

  9. 9 John A. Davison
    January 31, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Glenn, whoever that is,

    It is not Al Gore the politician who has influenced me. I am a great admirer of Tim Flannery, author of “The Weather Makers.” As a physiologist I have also reached my own conclusions which are presented on my weblog in the Global Warming section. Since I am now Professor Emeritus, I too opine freely here and elsewhere. I have great respect for James Hansen and support his alarmist position without reservation. I am also an antiDarwinian evolutionist.

    The glaciers continue to recede worldwide. They have no political agenda and neither do I.

    weblog:

    jadavison.wordpress.com

    P.S. anonymity is one of pet peeves.

  10. 10 John A. Davison
    February 1, 2009 at 5:10 am

    Glenn,

    It is not Mr. Davison. It is Dr. Davison and has been since 1954.

  11. 11 docattheautopsy
    February 1, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    P.S. anonymity is one of pet peeves.

    But it is perfectly allowable on this blog.

    After a scuffle with someone who was publicizing my identity on lefty blogs, I’m all in favor of people affording themselves some anonymity while discussing ideas.

  12. 12 John A. Davison
    February 1, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    I realize that doc, and that is the standard excuse offered, but there is no such thing as “some” anomymity. Anonymity is often used as an excuse for vitriol and insult as anyone familiiar with internet communication knows. Imagine a scientific literature with anonymous authors. I am convinced that if users had to present their full identities that the internet would be a far more useful medium for discourse and rational exchange. There would be much less arrogance and pomposity too. Much of it seems to be therapy for unfulfilled losers whose main purpose is to see their aliases in transient copy.

    I also realize that what I think and say will have no effect whatsoever.

  13. 13 docattheautopsy
    February 1, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    But scientific literature is a completely different animal than discussion of topics on the internet. The review process is to ensure scientific advancement, and typically doesn’t involve issues loaded with emotion.

    Imagine debating abortion online with full disclosure. You can guess that there are lunatics on either side who would make a trip to take out their frustrations on one person, or worse, their family. In my case, the left-wing lunatic posted my information in an attempt to get me fired. I can’t think of a situation where someone reviewing a journal article on subterranean faults causing changes in sand-based aquifer pressures would be so incensed they would attempt to get the author fired.

    I agree with you in part, but seeing how some people misuse information on the internet, I rest on the side of safety of commenters on the site. I also reserve the right to reject comments that do not contribute to any argument and are simple ad hominem attacks. And I also reserve the right to insert troll tags for people who just come here to troll.

  14. 14 John A. Davison
    February 2, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Doc

    I use a somewat different strategy on my weblog. I invite insults with the understanding that whatever the user says will remain even if I find it necessary to banish him from further participation. I collect, itemize, publish and cherish insults. The result is that I don’t get many any more.

    It is hard to believe isn’t it?

  15. 15 docattheautopsy
    February 4, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Not really. And I did just find your two previous comments captured by the spam filter. I approved them, albeit a little late. My apologies!

    After I was banned by the HuffPo for making some of their posters look stupid, I made sure all had a forum to post, even if they disagree with me. Both methods seem to work well.

    FYI, if you post a link in your comment, there’s a good chance the spam filter will get ya. If that’s the case, you can just send me a note to look in my spam filter and I’ll approve it.

  16. 16 Glenn
    February 5, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Dr. Davison:

    My apologies. I did search and read a bio on you but did not notice your doctorate.


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,328 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

