09
Feb
09

I admit it!

I take vitamins even though the research is showing I’m just making my pee more expensive.

I really do it because my girls get a kick out of setting out my vitamin in the morning.  And then they get mad if I don’t eat the vitamin.

Once they’re old enough to read the published literature, I’m sure it will all end.


4 Responses to “I admit it!”


  1. 1 John A. Davison
    February 12, 2009 at 8:01 am

    In general I agree with you doc with one important exception – Vitamin D. We who live in the north don’t get enough sunshine in the winter months. Since I suffer from osteoporosis, I can testify to the beneficial effects of my daily two capsule dose of Calcium plus Vitamim D tablets. If I had taken them sooner, I am sure I would now be better off.

  2. 2 docattheautopsy
    February 12, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I can also see the benefit of vitamin c to those who don’t get enough citrus. But supplements are great if you need supplementing. With my current diet, I’m reasonably sure I don’t have any dangerous deficiencies.

    But if you’re taking 60 pills a day while living in LA.. well, I think you might be a dumb blonde.

    http://www.celebitchy.com/34100/suzanne_somers_takes_60_pills_a_day_bioidentical_hormones/

  3. 3 Glenn
    February 12, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    What about a daily 81 Mg coated aspirin tablet? Is the blood thinning property of acetylsalicylic acid really of any benefit in helping ward off strokes and heart attacks? I
    believe it to be useful, and have taken a daily dose for several years. I am very pleased
    at my age, 58, an aspirin and a multiple vitamin are my only daily medications. I eat vegan most of the time, get adequate rest and inadequate exercise. I plan to improve my physical activity shortly as the weather warms here in Oklahoma. I quit smoking cigarettes in 2001 after a 35 year run. Health becomes more meaningful to one as they get “older” and realize that despite what they thought when they were 18 years old, they will not live forever.
    On the other hand, if one gives up smoking to add ten years to their lifespan, then spends that ten years in a nursing home vegetated by Alzheimer’s,(like my mother did) what was the point? You do the best that you can and hope it’s enough.

  4. 4 docattheautopsy
    February 13, 2009 at 9:01 am

    The aspirin has its pros and cons. It increases the chance of damage to the stomach lining, but it seems to be only for some at-risk people (such as a family history of ulcers). I love me some ibuprofen, and it’s got the same characteristics as aspirin in that regard, but I have a Le Creucet GI tract it seems.

    I hear you about the life extension argument. I could go to a 100% pro-health diet, but I don’t want to give up bacon, or steak, or baked goods. My wife and I have been experimenting with more healthy alternatives to processed foods, and I found eating fresh is better (although more expensive). My kids on the other hand think the world of my “Buttery Noodles” (egg noodles with butter, salt and pepper on them), but they don’t like better alternatives.

    I’d rather indulge in some bacon once every other week than plan to squeeze out one more year where a CNA helps me get dressed in the morning. But there are advances in anti-aging, so who knows, maybe we’ll have muscle-replacement and DNA rejuvenation in 20 years.


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,302 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

