13
Oct
09

Stimulus saves or creates 8,284 jobs in Wisconsin!

According to a report submitted by Gov. Jim Doyle to the Feds, the Stimulus money has saved or created 8,284 jobs in Wisconsin. (Of course, that’s BS. If you have to say things have been “created or saved”, you’re painting with a big brush. The job has either been created or it’s been saved. You don’t get to say it’s both without giving specifics.)

So far Wisconsin has received $1.9 billion dollars in aid from the Feds.

And if you get out a calculator, you’ll discover that’s just shy of $230,000 a job. According to the report, most of those jobs are fireman, policemen, and teachers (and I guarantee they don’t get paid more than $200,000 a year.)

Where did the rest of the money go? And why did it take $230,000 / job to save it?

And let’s be honest, this is a little bit of legerdemain. Do you think Wisconsin would really lay off 6100 firefighters, policemen and teachers? Of course not. That would be political suicide for Democrats as each is unionized. (I’m a teacher in a public school, and I’ve lost 5% of my income.) So did the stimulus really “save” those jobs? No. What it did was allow the state to say they would have cut those jobs had there been no stimulus.

As an analogy, suppose I get $100,000 from a benefactor, then say, “Thank goodness I got the money, or I would have had to sell my kids for medical experiments!” Would I really sell my kids? Of course not. But that’s the impression I’m giving by saying they were “saved” by the $100,000 donation.

The Wisconsin Office of Recovery can be found here.

If you really want to look at what the stimulus has done for Wisconsin, you can look here. At least it’s less than 9.7%.

UPDATE:  Looks as though this “education jobs are threatened” BS has been exposed in Ohio.  I wonder how many other states this is prominent in?


6 Responses to “Stimulus saves or creates 8,284 jobs in Wisconsin!”


  1. October 21, 2009 at 11:45 am

    Looks like the Admin really needs to stretch the truth to justify their economic plans.

  2. October 22, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    This is the information I was seeking.

  3. 3 oceanblue1
    October 29, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Um “Or” means one or the other, so when the state of Wisconsin say “the Stimulus money has saved or created 8,284 jobs in Wisconsin” what they are trying to say is that the Stimulus money has saved or created 8,284 jobs. . . can’t really get any clearer then that. So when you say “[t]he job has either been created or it’s been saved. You don’t get to say it’s both without giving specifics.” They’re not saying “both” they are saying “or.”

    I know this is a right leaning blog and probably doesn’t view the current administration in the brightest light, but he has only been in office for less then a year and even though he has done things that I don’t necessarily agree with – like his micro-management – I must say he has done a good job in the short time he has been in office to dig us out of the hole that we were placed in from the previous administration. The stock market has shown signs of recovery, unemployments claims continue to go down – although not as much as many would like, but still down. The fact is is that the Bush administration in an eight year period succeeded in their plan to run this nation into the ground and Obama, for his ten months in office has done a great job in fixing what took Bush eight years to break. I can only hope he continue to roll-back many of the plans Bush put into action over his dreadful time in office and continue on with his goal to get us back on track.


Leave a Reply

About Me

My name is Doc. Welcome to my blog. If you're visiting from another blog, add me to your blogroll (and I'll happily reciprocate). I have a Ph.D. in Chemistry and live in Wisconsin. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. My email is docattheautopsy at gmail. (No linking to deflate the incredible spam monsters).

Categories

Archives

World Temp Widget

Blog Stats

  • 129,328 hits

RSS The Autopsy

The Autopsy

